President's Committee Honored with National Award for Arts Education President's Committee Honored with National Award for Arts Education

October 27, 2011 – Margo Lion

Margo Lion

On October 17 at their Gala Dinner in New York City, Americans for the Arts (AFTA) honored the President's Committee on the Arts and the Humanities with the Arts Education Award. George Stevens, Jr., Rachel Goslins, Liz Manne, Ken Solomon, and Damian Woetzel joined me for the festivities, which also celebrated artists Frank Stella (Lifetime Achievement Award), Jenny Holzer (Outstanding Contributions to the Arts Award), and Gabourey Sidibe (Bell Family Foundation Young Artist Award).  

AFTA really knows how to host an event, and this night was no exception. The evening was buzzing with lively conversation about the role of the arts—in education, in strengthening community, and in economic development. Given the enthusiastic response to our landmark report, Re-investing in Arts Education: Winning America's Future, AFTA chose arts education as a major theme for the evening. It was deeply gratifying to hear echoed again and again the importance of our research and recommendations to those working tirelessly in the trenches. There was an especially exciting moment when Stephen Jones, Dean of the College of Fine Arts and Communications at Brigham Young University, told Ken and me of his plans to rethink the university’s curriculum as a result of what he has learned from our report. Congratulations to our Members on a terrific collaboration! 

Americans for the Arts’ Arts Education Award is one of its annual National Arts Awards, which recognize the achievements of individuals and corporations who have exhibited outstanding leadership in the visual and performing arts, arts education, advocacy, and philanthropy. Here is a list of past honorees.